Salted Brown Butter Rice Krispy Squares

flow

I’m all about sharing food with friends and family. Even if it’s almost too good to share, that’s what you do. (Is it bad to stash a cookie or two away for yourself, if you’re afraid your boyfriend won’t leave you any for the next day?) But essentially,  Karma and stuff. Sharing=happy people.

Our house had been put under strict orders to use up any leftover wedding food. (No pies were left by the way.) There was wild rice salad, quinoa salad, baked beans, vegetables and sandwich fixings. All lovely, no one had to worry about lunches or dinners. There were also  a few bags of marshmallows that remained.

I don’t know about you, but if there’s no fire for s’mores, I think the only other purpose for marshmallows is in Rice Krispy Squares.

I grew up with my Grandma’s Rice Krispy Squares beating out all school-event varieties. (Remember when it was Hallween or something and everyone’s Mom made rice crispy squares?) My Mom actually can’t make the three ingredient treat. She can make cheesecake, tarts, baklava, but there’s something with Rice Krispy Squares she just can’t get.

betterzoom

Which is quite alright, since I remember having a steady supply of the squares at my Grandma’s house growing up. Her recipe exceeded the rest because of her marshmallow to cereal ratio. I’m also certain she put in WAY more butter than what was called for. She probably double the marshmallows, resulting in pockets of gooey, sweet goodness. I can only imagine my Grandma cleaning up all of the grandchildren after encountering so much marshmallow.

As much as I go on about my childhood version, the saying goes, “These aren’t your Grandma’s…*Rice Krispy Squares.

And boy is that accurate. These have bumped up the flavour and sophistication of everyone’s childhood treat. Browned butter. We know this makes everything taste heavenly and gourmet, so that’s a no brainer. And salt. I’ve come to love salt in savoury dishes, finding myself adding it to finish cookies or caramel.  It totally takes this dessert to a new level.

So since we had so many marshmallows left, I decided to double the recipe. I knew 20-something-year-olds wouldn’t be satisfied with a dinky 9×11 pan. Nope, I thought a full size kitchen sheet pan would do the trick. It did. I’m not sorry at all.

kris

Salted Brown Butter Rice Krispy Squares

From SmittenKitchen.com

4 ounces (1/4 pound or 1 stick) salted butter, plus extra for the pan

1 10-ounce bag marshmallows
Heaping 1/4 teaspoon coarse sea salt
6 cups Rice Krispies cereal (about half a 12-ounce box)

 

1. Butter (or coat with non-stick spray) an 8-inch square cake pan with 2-inch sides.

2. In a large pot, melt butter over medium-low heat. It will melt, then foam, then turn clear golden and finally start to turn brown and smell nutty.

3. Stir frequently, scraping up any bits from the bottom as you do. Don’t take your eyes off the pot as while you may be impatient for it to start browning, the period between the time the butter begins to take on colour and the point where it burns is often less than a minute.

4. As soon as the butter takes on a nutty colour, turn the heat off and stir in the marshmallows. The residual heat from the melted butter should be enough to melt them, but if it is not, turn it back on low until the marshmallows are smooth or add a lid for a few minutes.

5. Remove the pot from the stove and stir in the salt and cereal together. (I had a large bowl for the cereal and poured the marshmallow mixture into that.)

6. Quickly spread into prepared pan. I find if you wet your hands a bit it helps to spread evenly.

7. Chill for as long as you can wait.

Leave a Reply

