Chive + Cheddar Hush Puppies

_MG_0006

Did you know hush puppies were a thing? As in, not a shoe or a puppet?

I ‘ve heard of people eating ‘hush puppies.’ I’ve seen the name on menus too, but that’s as far as my scope goes. Then, the new LCBO food and drink magazine came out with fry cones overflowing with hush puppies. I didn’t know what the ingredients were, but I did know I was making these fried, golden nuggets.

right_next

And what luck! They are basically corn bread! Even better, I had all of the ingredients – even chives. (Thanks previous home-owners.)

dry

These came together really quickly. As in, I spontaneously invited friends over to help me devour these, realized I hadn’t actually made them yet, and was finished the entire process in half an hour.

batter

The hush puppies are hearty and from the cornmeal, insanely crunchy on the outside and soft and chewy on the inside. They also disappear way too quickly. If you’re planning on feeding more than 5 people, I’d suggest making more. Doubling even.

_MG_0005

The sauce is pretty key but also very flexible in terms of ingredients. I started following the recipe, but not having enough mayo forced me to stretch it with other ingredients. I’d say a 1:2 parts ratio of mayo and something else. Pesto, garlic chill sauce, lemon juice, even ketchup is really good.

nomnoms

Chive + Cheddar Hush Puppies

Adapted from LCBO Food + Drink Summer 2014

Makes about 3 dozen

Sauce

1/2 cup mayo
zest + juice of 1 lime
2 tablespoons garlic chili sauce
salt + pepper to taste

Hush Puppies

1 1/4 cup fine cornmeal
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/3 cup chives, finely chopped
1 cup old cheddar cheese, grated
1 egg lightly beaten
2/3 cup yogurt or sour cream (recipe called for a lager, but I didn’t have any on hand)
Vegetable oil for frying

1. In a medium bowl, whisk together cornmeal, flour, sugar, salt, pepper and baking powder. Stir in chives + cheese.

2. In a small bowl, mix egg and yogurt together. Stir into dry mixture until just combined.

3. Heat 2″ of oil in a medium sauce pan to 375˚. Using a teaspoon, roughly form balls and drop (AWAY FROM YOU!) into oil, working in small batches.

4. Cook each fritter for about 2-3 minutes, rotating for even cooking.

For the sauce:

1. Mix all ingredients together and set aside. Can me made a few days in advance.

 

 

One response to “Chive + Cheddar Hush Puppies

Leave a Reply

