Whitewater Veggie Burgers + Embracing My Inner Hippie

I was never veggie burgers. It doesn’t excite me to eat a ‘burger’ that has no animal protein- or any other recognizable ingredients, yet – faintly smells like meat. No thanks.
My mom was given this cookbook from a friend – it looked a bit too hippy-heavy if you know what I mean. Remember, this was a few years ago, I was just was just getting used to having flax in my bread. Look at me now! I may or may not moisturize with coconut oil and bathe with patchouli now.
So my mom made these burgers, I rebelled. I wanted meat! Then, I got hungry.
Needless to say, the burgers are really, really good. The oats, flours and veggies add a hearty texture; combined with fresh herbs and bold spices, they are also super flavourful.
These are extremely versatile too. I’ve added ancho chilli powder, swapped carrots for sweet potato and used fresh basil instead of parsley. Essentially, if there are flavours you already like, your customized new combinations are going to be good.
I also like to err on the side of outrageous when it comes to toppings. Tomato, lettuce, pickles, avocado and caramelize onions are a staple. If there is grilled pineapple hanging around, it’s going on too. I consider it a hand-held salad. This is a fantastic vegetarian recipe since the oats and beans create a complete protein. That being said, there’s no reason why cheese and bacon should be left out. I never claimed I was a vegetarian.

Peterborough: The town that brought out my inner hippie

Whitewater Veggie Burgers
Adapted from Whitewater Cooks
  • 1 Tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 Tbsp cumin
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp chili powder
  • 1 – 19 oz. can black beans, drained, rinsed
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1/4 cup parsley, chopped
  • 2 Tbsp sesame oil
  • 1/2 cup almonds, roasted and chopped
  • 1 cup sunflower seeds, roasted and chopped
  • 3 cups whole grain flour (mixture of quinoa, amaranth, whole wheat)
  • 1/2 cup soy sauce or tamari
  • 5 eggs
  • 1 cup carrot, grated
  • 1 cup beet grated
  • 2 cups oats
  • salt + pepper to season
Instructions
  1. In a large skillet, saute onions and garlic in oil. Place in large mixing bowl and let it cool a little.  Add remaining ingredients.  Mix well and shape into patties.  Heat a little oil in a pan and brown the burger on both sides.
  2. Alternatively, form patties and freeze. Cook when ready to eat.

 

Leave a Reply

