Thursday Night Lobster Supper

I have a confession. I’m part Newfie. It’s been something I’ve never had a need to flaunt, but as the weather gets warmer (just don’t look at the snow that’s still in the ditches…) my seafood cravings is getting a bit out of hand. I’ve satisfied my barbecue needs, but it’s ocean dwellers I want.

 

I have actually only been to the ocean a handful of times, but when I was there it was heaven. How can someone not love floating in the water with salty, refreshing air? Not to mention baking like  a little clam in the sun afterwards? And the best part of the seaside? Seafood! Unless you’re allergic to shellfish. You should just stop reading right now.

 

I noticed lobster was on sale recently at the grocery store and my decision was made. The craving went into overdrive and lobster was going to be on the menu. If it meant biking in a dress after work in a 30km headwind, well, it’s lobster people! I’ve never been known to have sensible food priorities.

 

So, boiling a lobster..

As it turned out, I didn’t read the flyer carefully enough. Devastated, I realized that the lobster was pre-cooked. NOOOOOO!!! I really wanted to try and get a squirmy, flailing crustaion in a pot of boiling water!

 

Although, considering the same day I bruised my leg, (not by actually biking, but jamming my handle bar int my thigh parking it,)could be a good argument that I may not be co-ordinated enough for such adventures just yet. I’ll that as a sign from the fish gods. Isn’t there a joke rooted in that last sentence somewhere?

Religious references aside, the lobster experience was fantastic. My room mates and I were using whatever tools we had around to dismember our dinner. There was one lobster cracker, but when there’s a hammer on the table, who wants to be conventional? Slurping, laughing, cracking (shells flying) sucking and of course butter dunking, it was a great dinner party.

 

I highly recommend inviting your friends over and doing the same. It’s even more fun if one of your guests hasn’t had lobster before. Not to say watching them struggle is fun,  (because that’s mean) but it adds to the entertainment.

 

So, the Newfie came out – just don’t tell anyone.

 

This was a refreshing side to our otherwise rich, buttery and intensely garlicky lobster dinner. I like my gazpacho pretty chunky, but feel free to blend and even strain yours. It reminded me of summer-which made me very happy. Then I realized it was April. That made me sad.

Tomato Gazpacho

 

Loosely adapted from Ina Garten

Serves 2 a main or 4  as an appetizer

 

6 tomatoes, roughly chopped

1/2 English cucumber, roughly chopped

1/2 red pepper, roughly chopped

2 shallots, roughly diced

2 cloves garlic. roughly diced

2 tablespoons fresh basil, torn

1/4 cup olive oil

1/4 cup red wine vinegar

1/4 cup water or tomato juice

1/4 teaspoons pepper

1/2 teaspoons salt

 

1. Put all ingredients into blender, pulse until everything is coarsely chopped and thoroughly blended.

2. Chill before serving. It is best to make in the morning for dinner or even a full day before.

Leave a Reply

