Pumpkin Spice Scones with Spice Glaze

_MG_0005

So what if my last three posts have been exclusively pumpkin. It’s not like that’s all I’ve been eating….

Image

I was thinking I could justify this squash-spree with the fact that it’s the middle of autumn -so of course I’ve stocked up on harvest treats! Then I looked at the calender, it’s only the 4th guys. It hasn’t even been fall for two whole weeks and I’m already borderline overdosing here. Although overdose is a matter of opinion. I actually can’t wait until one pumpkin pastry has disappeared only to be (aw, shucks) replaced by another new variation!

Image

You didn’t think we’d go through October without pumpkin scones did you? I have to make a confession here though. Normally I’m a bit of a snob particular when it comes to buying scones. Despite being so basic, they also seem to be notorious for well, sucking. Dry, stale, bland, crumbly, there’s a lot that can go wrong with a scone. Not a lot of cafes do pumpkin scones, but I will say I have two favourites that I’d gladly buy. (Truly, the only reason I made these was so I could have more and not go broke buying out the stores…)

Image

Whole foods makes a year-round indulgent, pecan-studded scone. They tend to be a bit on the mammoth side, but they are prefect for dunking.

Image

My other favourite is from my favourite local cafe, Isabella’s. They have their standard cheese and dill and blueberry oat scones – which I also could go broke consuming – but the seasonal pumpkin scones are incredible. Perfectly flaky, generously spiced and just the right size.

I tried to mimic Isabella’s scones a bit here, (sorry Rosie!) with the spiced glaze (versus plain) as well as making them a bit heartier and smaller than the Whole Foods variety. I have to note the oat/whole grain decision was purely to justify eating them for breakfast and not feeling terrible about it.

I don’t need to reiterate my borderline-dangerous pumpkin spice and autumn obsession to try and sell these to you either. Savour the season!

Image

Pumpkin Spice Scones with Spiced Glaze

Makes 6-8 medium scones, 12 small scones

Adapted from Sweet Pea

  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup and 1 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon molasses
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 6 tablespoons cold butter, cut into 1-inch cubes
  • 1/2 cup canned pumpkin
  • 3 tablespoons plain yogurt or milk
  • 1 large egg

Spiced Glaze

  • 1 cup plus 3 tablespoons powdered sugar
  • 1 tablespoons milk
  • 1 tablespoon coffee
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1 pinch ground ginger
  • 1 pinch ground cloves

1. Preheat the oven to 425˚

2.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper; set aside.
3. In a bowl stir together the flours, oats sugar, baking powder, salt and spices

4. Work butter into flour mixture with pastry blender until it resembles a coarse meal.

5. In a separate bowl, whisk together the pumpkin, yogurt/milk and egg.

6. Gently stir wet ingredients into dry ingredients until just combined, turn onto counter to bring dough together completely.

7. Pat out dough onto a lightly floured surface and form into a 1-inch thick rectangle about 4″x12″

8. Use a large knife to slice the dough into eight equal portions.

9.  Place on prepared baking sheet. Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until light brown.

10. Combine all of the ingredients for the spiced glaze. Drizzle over each scone and allow the icing to dry before serving (about an hour – I dare you to wait that long!)

Leave a Reply

