Peach Blueberry Pie with Streusel Topping

county

Remember when I was going on about how much I love peaches. Well it is peach season (I know, I already mentioned that too) so you best get used to it. I don’t mean that in a rude way of course. It’s more of a preparation of Melissa-making-you-peach-things. If you’re lucky I’ll make you some peach salsa or better yet, one of my favourite pies (sorry strawberry rhubarb, I still love you too) streusel-topped peach blueberry pie.

peech

peachafar

inaards

The origin of this pie was circa discovering-how-awesome-summer-fruit-is. I was in high school and living my entire preteen years without a friend to appreciate culinary delights. (sheesh, right?) And then the exchange student came. This sounds like an allusion to a bad joke or hilarious movie, but it really isn’t, I’m not that exciting. My new friend was from Sweden (how exotic!) and being a year older (and wiser) was just as hopped-up on cooking and baking as I was.

pastry

uncookd

As a weird history/foodie/art nerd this was one of the best moments of my high school experience. I didn’t go to prom or join any teams if that gives you an idea of the kind of kid I was. I stress the art nerd part too by the way. Regardless of my woeful high school tales, I made a life-long friend that year ,whom I’ve proudly kept in touch with to this day. In the few summer months my new friend was here, I’m certain we made this pie at least 3 times. Every time I make this pie I think of Malin and all the lard we went through.

_MG_0017

Peach Blueberry Pie with Streusel Topping

Filling adapted from epicurious.com

Crumble topping from williams-sonoma.com

Makes one 9″ pie, serves 8-12

  • 1x basic pie crust
  • 2 cups blueberries
  • 4 cups peaches, diced (roughly blueberry sized pieces)
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup flour or cornstarch, more if the peaches are extra juicy
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon rum or vanilla extract
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 tablespoon oatmeal

Topping

  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup butter, cut into pieces
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • pinch of salt

1. In a large bowl, stir together flour, sugar, cinnamon and salt until combined.

Using a fork, work in the butter until it forms a crumbly, coarse mixture. Set aside until ready to use.

Assembly

1. Prepare pastry, chill until ready to use.

2. Preheat oven to 425˚

3. Combine remaining ingredients into large bowl. Set aside until ready to use.

4. On gently floured surface, roll out 1 disc of pastry into 1/4″ thick circular shape. As long as its at least 2-3″ larger than your pie plate.

5. Transfer dough onto pie plate. Trim overhanging pastry, dock middle with a fork and sprinkle with oatmeal. If time permits, chill for 15-30 minutes.

6. Place blueberry and peach mixture into prepared pie shell, sprinkling streusel over top. I could have gotten by with only half the topping but the whole recipe will fit.

7. Place pie onto cookie sheet to catch any drips on the lower third of preheated oven. Bake for 15 minutes.

8. Reduce the oven temperature to 350˚ and bake for 50-60 minutes until fruit is tender and juices are bubbling. You can test this with a knife and see how well the fruit yields.

9. Remove from oven and let cool at least 2-3 hours before slicing. The pie will be VERY juicy, but if you can’t wait and don’t mind a soupy mess, dig in! Don’t forget the vanilla ice cream!

Leave a Reply

