Spicy Grilled Peach + Mango Salad

Image

Do you remember the first time you ate something that seemingly chained your life? Maybe you were convinced it was terrible only to be amazed at how so wrong you were.I’ve always loved it when something is hidden, only to be revealed as the secret ingredient to the dishes success.

Image

I recently tried zucchini blossoms for the first time-I was by no means dreading it, but it was one of those “Why has it taken me so long to try these??” moments. I can say the same for fresh figs, which thankfully I didn’t wait as long to try.

Image

I go on and on and on and on and on about how much I love seasonal and local ingredients. I’m sorry, it’s just a really big deal to me. Deal with it- or if you understand where I’m coming from, I thank you for sharing my enthusiasm.

Image

This is a riff on one of my favourite summertime salads. I remember eating  a variation of my Mom’s when I was probably 13 or so and still early in my stage of culinary insanity/obsession appreciated. I had a “Why has it taken me so long to try these?” moment. It was the grilled peaches that changed my life. Ok, that may be a  bit over reaching to say, but they are pretty amazing. I know I had tried peaches before and I’m sure I would have tried them grilled somewhere along the line but it was the flavour and the awareness that opened my eyes. They were so sweet, and the mint! That leafy stuff from the garden is actually good for something? Oh yes Past-Melissa, mint is good for many things.

 Image

Needless to say, peach season is here and it’s time to conjure up some childhood memories and delicious food. Sometimes it’s amazing what you can achieve when you take an ordinary fruit or vegetable and simply change the way it’s prepared, you may be surprised with the results.

Image

Spicy Grilled Peach + Mango Salad

Adapted form LCBO food and Drink

Serves 4

  • 4 peaches, cut into halves
  • 1 large mango, cut into slices
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • 2 tablespoons lime juice, divided
  • 1 heaping tablespoon honey
  • 1/2 jalepeno finely diced
  • 1/2 cup mixed herbs (basil, cilantro, mint)
  • 6 cups mixed greens
  • salt + pepper

Fruit

1. Cut peaches and mango, place in bowl and set to side.

2. Combine 1 tablespoon olive oil, 1 tablespoon lime juice, salt, pepper and honey. Add to fruit and let marinade at room temperature, up to 3 hours.

3. When ready to cook, preheat grill to 375˚

4. Arrange fruit in grill rack, reserving juices separately and  cooking until softened, about 10 minutes, keeping an eye on them as the honey will make them burn.

5. Once they have cooked, remove and set aside to cool.

Dressing + Assembly

1. Combine remaining 1 tablespoon of olive oil and lime juice. Season with salt and pepper. Add diced jalepeno to marinade.

2. Pour reserved fruit marinade into jalepeno marinade until ready to use.

3. On a platter, arrange lettuce and herbs in one layer.

4. Spoon grilled fruit over top of lettuce and finish with dressing.

5. Serve immediately as the juicy fruit will make the lettuce soggy.

Leave a Reply

