Rainbow Chickpea Summer Rolls

Image

Despite what this blog indicates, I really do eat healthy. I love vegetables and eat a salad of some form almost every day for lunch. I will admit too that I’ll often have a less than substantial lunch, but then I’ll still have something balanced for dinner. And I don’t mean a cookie in each hand. Oddly enough I’m know amount my friends as one of the healthiest people they know as well as the best baker. I enjoy my contradicting titles.’

Another of my titles leans towards picky. I call it discerning.  Although, I will admit it can be a bit outrageous. I like to have control and knowledge of what I’m eating (and paying for) I flew recently and wasn’t prepared, becoming grumpy and hungry due to my inability to plans head and pack something or ‘just get something.’ I didn’t want a repeat of that.

_MG_0006

_MG_0008

_MG_0007

I envy people on any mode of transportation that had enough forethought to put in the time and effort into making something delicious. I try to be that person, but really, don’t we all? How many times have you want to ask the guy beside you,  if you can just have a bite of the carefully crafted sandwich you know he won’t share with you? You want to have that food envy. Not because you’re a mean person. No, you’re being very considerate thinking of yourself. You’re hungry and want to enjoy the next 6 hours of traveling. With the kid behind you kicking your seat, the lady in front of you talking non-stop and the baby down the isle crying, you should at least have a killer snack.

_MG_0009

_MG_0020

These summer rolls are a first for me. I have a vague memory of eating a carrot and other wilty vegetable-filled spring roll once. I’m going to go on the clarity of the contents mirroring the flavour of this roll: not very memorable.

_MG_0016

I was investigating something that travels well for my trip to British Columbia. It wasn’t an all day-event but I needed sustenance and I really didn’t want to pay for a $15 sandwich. I wanted something fresh and healthy with protein and other good things airplane food is unacquainted with. Wraps or sandwiches get soggy, salads are messy…I was almost going to settle for a hearty muffin (which ended up being breakfast) when I found a recipe for spring rolls-in a travel menu no less!

twoway

 

I used my original recipe as a guideline, adding different beans and vegetables based on what I wanted to eat. I seriously couldn’t believe how easy and delicious they were. I erred on the side of over stuffage which was my way of using the unmeasured ingredients I decided to use. I can guarantee you will get alt east 8 rolls, possibly more or less depending on your burrito-rolling abilities.

_MG_0018

As many of my recipes seem to go, this is a guideline for you to jump from. The only thing I would suggest is not to have overly wet ingredients. As much as you want to load a never-fail Thai chilli sauce into these babies, it will make them soggy and completely lose the crunch that makes them so perfect. That being said, they are delicious dipped into Thai chili sauce.

roller

_MG_0026-1

 

Rainbow Chickpea Summer Rolls

Adapted from Sprouted Kitchen 

  • 1 package rice paper wraps (you won’t need them all, but depending on how you stuff them, you won’t be out)
  • 3/4 cup fresh mint, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup fresh cilantro, finely chopped
  • 1  cup grated carrots, about 1carrot
  • 1  cup grated beets, about 1 medium to large beet
  • 1 cup peas
  • 1 large mango
  • 3/4 cup sprouts
  • 1 large avocado
  • 1 540ml or 90oz chickpeas (I used canned)
  • 1-2 teaspoons siracha
  • 1 scant tablespoon toasted sesame oil (I find it too strong and don’t usually use the whole measurement)
  • 1 tablespoon freshly grated ginger
  • 1-2 teaspoons fish sauce

1. Set up your roll workspace. You need a large bowl of warm water and a damp dish towel to work on. The cooler the water, the easier it is to handle the rolls. I found if the water was too warm they went too soft, too quickly

2. Set out your herbs, carrots, beets, avocado, peas, mango and sprouts on your board or in individual bowls.

3. Combine the chickpeas with siracha, sesame oil, fish sauce and ginger. Taste and adjust heat as desired. Remember this is what flavours the entire roll.

4. When you’re making your rolls (one roll at a time) ideally try to be as quick as you can-as the papers dry and become sticky and harder to handle.

5. Put the wrap flat into the large bowl of warm water, being careful to not let it curl up, until soft. I dipped mine in rotating it to ensure even softness and maximum control, about 1 minute in total give or take. I also found that they needed only to be mostly soft when you removed them from the water, continuing to soften and absorb the water as they sat on the board.

6. Lay the wrap down on the dish towel. Down the centre like a burrito, layer the herbs, a good 2 tablespoons of chickpeas, peas then small handfuls of the carrots, beets, mango, sprouts and a few slices of avocado. It will look like it won’t be able to roll, but the papers are stretchy so don’t be stingy!It’s key to add the chickpeas and peas first, since they are roley poly and will make your life much easier.

7. Fold over the top and bottom ends over the filling, tuck the right flap over and then roll to close.

8. Repeat with remaining wraps. Store in the refrigerator wrapped in plastic  as they will stick together. Best eaten the day of, but will keep fairly well for up to 2 days.

2 responses to “Rainbow Chickpea Summer Rolls

  1. Those look delicious!

    I am also the healthiest eater of my friends and family, but I work in a bakery ;) I like the contradiction too haha

  2. Pingback: Whitewater Veggie Burgers | the windowsill·

Leave a Reply

