Streusel-Topped Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

_MG_0028

I’ve realized I tend to go from one extreme to the other in a lot of my interest and actions. I’m very active but totally content painting and cooking (i.e. eating and not exercising) for an entire day. I also try to eat really healthy, but you may notice my obsession with butter as well.

_MG_0030

I understand the value of presenting oneself in a clean, tidy and stylish manner in a job or professional setting. I actually need to pick my clothes out the night before, otherwise I can’t get dressed in time before work. On the other hand…if I’m not going anywhere, I almost challenge myself in seeing how long I can go without getting dressed. Showers aren’t on my priority list either. The way I see it is, if I’m clean and ready for work, I’d like to stay that way. If I’m a ragamuffin more casual, I don’t mind a little dirt. Which is why I relish squishing my toes in the dirt foraging for herbs, fruit and vegetables. Sun warmed tomatoes, slightly gritty basil and satisfyingly snapping up rhubarb is what I live for. _MG_0019

_MG_0021

_MG_0020

_MG_0022

_MG_0023

 

This pie is on the opposite ends of my spectrum. Switch out clean and professional Melissa, enter wild-haired, bare-foot Tom Robbins reading rhubarb gatherer. Forget about fibre-rich and protein-packed snacks, it’s all about sugar, lard and white flower: old fashioned strawberry rhubarb pie is on the menu. I truly think having variety in your life keeps you balanced. I can’t eat pie all day and wear bare feet all the time, although that does sound pretty nice…

_MG_0002

As much as I LOVE streusel, I actually didn’t have any more pastry so it was a bit of a default. It does happen to be my favourite variation of pie topping, but if you want a lattice top is also delicious. I prefer not to have a full top on this pie since the filling is sooo good, I don’t like to smother it in pastry. I like the ratio to be about 2/3 filling to 1/3 pie.

_MG_0032

Streusel-Topped Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

Serves 8

Adapted from Canadian Living’s Family Cookbook

  • 1x perfect pastry recipe 
  • 4 cups rhubarb, chopped
  • 2 cups strawberries, sliced
  • 1/4 cup flour or cornstarch
  • 1 tbs lemon juice
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1-2 tbs oatmeal
  • flour for dusting
  • Streusel topping

Streusel Topping

  • 1/2 c brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup butter
  1. Combine all ingredients together with fingers or pastry blender until crumbly. Set aside until ready to use.

Pie

  1. Preheat oven to 425˚
  2. On a lightly floured surface, roll out half of pastry  to fit into 9″ pie plate. Dock with a fork and sprinkle with oats to absorb excess filling liquid and place in fridge with until ready to fill.
  3. In a bowl, combine remaining ingredients (not streusel!) Spoon into pie shell.
  4. You can add a lattice top or streusel topping at this point.
  5. Place pie on cookie shoot to catch juices, place in oven on lower third and bake for 15 minutes.
  6. Reduce temperature to 375˚ and cook for another 50-60 minutes until bottom is brown and fruit is bubbling
  7. Remove from oven and let cool completely before serving.
  8. Keeps at room temperature for about 3 days, I can’t say I’ve ever seen one last that long though.
3 responses to “Streusel-Topped Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

  1. Pingback: Strawberry Rhubarb Breakfast Mini Loaves aka Rachael Ray Loaves | the windowsill·

  2. Pingback: Peach Blueberry Pie with Streusel Topping | the windowsill·

  3. Pingback: 17 Pies | the windowsill·

Leave a Reply

