Lattice Cherry Pie

Image

I didn’t have a real cherry until I was 15. As i type this, I realize there are endless inappropriate sexual innuendoes I could make in regards to that opening statement. I could, but I’m not going to. We’ll keep it PG today.

The reason I hadn’t tried real cherries until later, was because I grew up with cherry medicine. I was convinced that’s what cherries tasted like, I had no proof otherwise. I made a rule not to eat anything red or pink, regardless of how much actual fruit was involved, I didn’t want to risk the cherry-flavour run-in.

I don’t remember when I ate the real deal, but it soon became one of my favourite fruits. I savoured them even more once I realized their short and limited season. I wanted to put cherries in everything but I also realized what a huge pain in the butt they are to pit.

My previous cherry desserts consisted of gelatinous cherry pie filling on top of cheesecake. I secretly love that combination but I wanted to utilize the fresh cherries. It wasn’t until a few weeks ago that decided to tackle the tedious stone fruit and finally make a cherry pie. I’ve heard good things about them, I mean it’s pie-what’s not to love?

Thanks to a nameless sous-chef, (who may or may not have gotten an extra piece, with ice cream) my cherries were painlessly pitted and I finally had my first slice of cherry pie. And holy moly, was it ever good. I didn’t use a lot of sugar, drained the excess juices and tasted the filling before baking-I couldn’t blindly cook it without ‘adjusting the seasoning’! I needed to make sure it was perfect, not that that was difficult with fresh fruit and a no-fail crust.

I highly recommend dear readers, that you don’t take10 years to make that coveted recipe of yours. Although, it does taste a whole lot sweeter after the wait.

Lattice Cherry Pie

Adapted from Food & Drink LCBO

  • 1x pastry dough recipes
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 tbsp (25 mL) corn starch
  • Pinch salt
  • 5 cups (1.25 L) pitted cherries
  • oats for sprinkling onto crust
  • 2 tablespoons cream for brushing
  • 3 tablespoons coarse sugar for dusting
1. Preheat the oven to 450ºF (230ºC).2. Divide pastry into two equal portions. Roll out one half and line a 9-inch (23-cm) pie plate leaving a 1-inch (2.5-cm) overhang. Reserve other portion of dough. Chill pie crust and remaining dough until needed.

3. Combine sugar, cornstarch and salt in a bowl. Place cherries in a large bowl and toss with sugar mixture until coated. Fill chilled pie shell with cherry mixture, draining any excess liquid off first.

4. To make lattice top: roll reserved pastry to 1/8-inch (3-mm) thick. Using a ruler and a pizza wheel, cut sixteen ¾-inch (2-cm) strips. Lay 8 strips across the pie in 1 direction, leaving about a ¾-inch (2-cm) gap between strips. To weave a lattice crust, gently fold back every other strip starting with the first strip on the left. Lay one strip of dough across top end of pie, perpendicular to original strips. Replace the folded strips.

5. Starting with the second strip from the left, fold back alternating strips. Lay another strip of dough parallel to the first crosswise strip, leaving a ¾-inch (2-cm) space in between. Replace folded strips. Continue folding back alternating strips until lattice is woven.

6. Trim all pastry to about ½-inch (1-cm) from edge of pie plate. Moisten the bottom crust with water and lightly press strips to it to seal together. Fold bottom crust overhand over the lattice ends and pinch together, making either a fluted or plain crust edge.

7. Bake for 10 minutes on a tray to catch dripping juices, then reduce heat to 350ºF (180ºC) and bake for 45 minutes to 1 hour more or until juices are bubbling and thick. Serve warm or cold with ice cream if desired.

Leave a Reply

