Prosciutto + Cheese Asparagus Bundles with Balsamic Glaze

_MG_0033

I love food. I think and talk about it constantly. I have dog-eared magazines, bookmarked cookbooks a desktop full of recipe links and two binders full of even more recipes. I also read cookbooks in my spare time.

It would be a euphemism to say, I have a few recipes I’ve been planning on making. It’s been years since I first saw turkey burgers, only to make them the other day.

_MG_0014

I don’t hoard all of these recipes intentionally, but its’ difficult to actually go through and meet your lofty aspirations. You know when you’ve got a winning dish, it’s hard to try something new. Or when you see some recipes, they just seem so daunting, it’s hard to justify spending so much time for a potentially disappointing or lacklustre end result.

_MG_0024

_MG_0025

_MG_0026

_MG_0027

Which brings me to this recipe. I saw it two days ago and made it! That is to say, I don’t always wait years months to make intriguing dishes, but this one seemed particularly, unnecessary. What I mean is, this recipe was looked good, I wanted to eat it, but it wasn’t at the top of my list. It’s moved it’s way up.

 _MG_0030

These bundles initially seemed like a special-occasion kind of dish. I always associate assembled or individual recipes with guests and parties. I should really stop that thought process, why shouldn’t I indulge. Funny enough, these are so simple and un-indulgent, just a few really good ingredients.

_MG_0035

So next time you see a recipe and think “ugh, I can’t make that, it’s too hard/fancy etc.” Think again and make it. You’ll feel a little indulgent in doing so and proud for going ahead and making a seemingly un-tackleable recipe.

Prosciutto and Cheese Asparagus Bundles with Balsamic Glaze

Adapted from Whitewater Cooks: With Friends

Serves 6

24 asparagus spears

6 thin slices of prosciutto

6 thin slices fontina or Monterey jack cheese (really any cheese will be good here)

Pomegranate Balsamic Glaze*

*I didn’t have this on hand and reduced 1/4 cup of pomegranate juice with 2 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar. You can always drizzle with regular balsamic and it’ll be quite good still.

  1. Steam asparagus. I put them in a pan with a few splashes of water and let them steam for about 5 minutes. You can blanch them, but I normally just drain them and let them cool.
  2. While asparagus is cooling, slice cheese and preheat bbq to medium-high heat, about 350-400˚.
  3. Place prosciutto onto cutting board, put cheese then asparagus on top of that. Wrap into bundles tightly. Use toothpick if needed.
  4. Grill until cheese is melted and prosciutto is crispy; about 2 minutes per side.
  5. Drizzle with sauce and serve immediately.
Leave a Reply

