Baked Chicken Parmesan

_MG_0032

I don’t like to order chicken parmesan when I go out to eat. There are a few reasons for this. One, it’s commonly soggy, greasy with cheese or too huge to tackle. Two, I can have it at home. There’s a discrepancy with this logic however:  I don’t remember the last time anyone in my house made chicken parmesan. I’m pretty sure I’ve never even made it before.

_MG_0019

_MG_0020

_MG_0018

And why don’t I eat it? There’s always chicken kicking around. The mass amount of dishes it accumulates could be one reason. The greasy oil-drenched batter may be the other. I decided to brave the dishes and make a healthier version, since despite my history, I really do like chicken parmesan. If it’s a bit healthier too, all the better.

_MG_0021

_MG_0023

_MG_0022

I used a leftover bolognese sauce for this (holy moly was it ever good!) but you can use tomato sauce or even pizza sauce if you’re feeling especially lazy time conscious. I also didn’t have any mozzarella cheese, which I have to say was a blessing in disguise. Old cheddar was all I had (darn) and it’s sharpness was AMAZING with the meat sauce and crispy chicken. I will warn you, it’s not as crunchy as its fried counterpart, but the chicken is so tender and moist it’s really a winner winner chicken dinner. Sorry, couldn’t resist.

Baked Chicken Parmesan

Serves 4

Adapted from Whitewater Cooks: At Home

  • 2-4 chicken breasts, pounded (mine were HUGE, I only needed 2)
  • 1 cup panko breadcrumbs
  • 1 teaspoon oragano
  • 1/4 cup parmesan
  • 1 egg, plus 1 tablespoon water
  • 1 cup flour
  • salt + pepper
  • tomato sauce, gently warmed or room temperature
  • 2 cups cheese, seriously, try cheddar!
  1. Preheat oven to 400˚. Line baking tray with parchment.
  2. Prepare your breading station: Blend panko, oregano and parmesan in one bowl. Whisk egg and water together in second bowl. Add flour to third bowl
  3. On a  cutting board in between two pieces of plastic wrap, pound chicken until uniform 1/4″ thickness. Season both sides with salt + pepper. I cut mine in half as they were still quite large for one person. I also obliterated some pieces into shreds…
  4. Dip chicken into flour, egg and panko, shaking off excess in between each dipping. Repeat with remaining chicken and put onto baking tray.
  5. Bake chicken for 35-45 minutes until golden and crisp on both sides. Turn oven off and turn on broil setting onto low. Add sauce of choice and cheese generously.
  6. Broil until cheese is melted and bubbling.
  7. Serve immediately.
Leave a Reply

