Double Coconut Muffins

_MG_0047

I feel kind of strange posting this recipe. I’m not going to lie, I wasn’t a huge fan of these muffins. I know, “Why on earth are you giving us the recipe then!?” Well, everyone else loved them.  A lot. They’re also on the near side of healthy, so they’re definitely a valuable addition.

 _MG_0041

_MG_0044

I think I have a pretty good palate, but I can’t like everything. I’ll give the recipe as is, but if I was to make these again, I’d increase the sugar to 2/3 of a cup(form 1/3), add 1/4 teaspoon of lime zest and 1/3 cup chopped pineapple.

_MG_0040

 _MG_0043

I’m a bit greedy with my muffins. I can’t settle for a plain batter with nothing going on inside. I like pockets of fruit, tunnels of flavour and the most muffin for my mouth. That came out wrong. Point is, these are very simple, not too sweet, dense muffins- which are perfectly fine. Perhaps if you’re more into a plainer flavour profile, make these as is. I would recommend though, spreading with ginger marmalade, brown butter or even toasting them (if you can manage or have a toaster oven) and spreading both on. Like I said, I’m greedy.

Double Coconut Muffins

Adapted from Smitten Kitchen

  • 1/4 cup virgin coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup butter, browned and cooled
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon table salt
  • 1 cup full fat Greek-style yogurt, at room temperature is best
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg, at room temperature is best
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup sweetened shredded coconut, toasted, divided and cooled
  1. Preheat oven to 375°F. Either grease 10 muffin cups with butter or coconut oil, or line them with papers.
  2. Brown butter: in a small saucepan (I know it may seem cumbersome but it adds SO much flavour). Bring to a simmer, swirly often until browned, about 10 minutes. Remove from heat and add coconut oil until melted. Set aside to cool.
  3. On the stove in a pan, toast coconut on low heat, stirring often, about 10 minutes. Set aside to cool. Ideally do steps 2-3 together before starting the muffin batter.
  4. In a medium bowl, whisk together your flours, baking powder and salt. Stir 1/2 cup shredded coconut.
  5. In a separate bowl, whisk together egg, sugar, coconut oil, yogurt and vanilla. Stir into dry ingredients until just combined.
  6. Divide batter among prepared muffin cups then sprinkle the top with remaining 1/4 cup coconut, about 1 to 2 teaspoons on each.
  7. Bake until a tester inserted into the center comes out batter-free, about 20 minutes. Transfer muffins to a rack and let cool.
Leave a Reply

