Eating My Way Through Montreal

I went to Montreal last weekend with my mom. I won’t go into a big long introduction, since we know it’s all about the food. And Simons. Enjoy!

Image

Our hotel window’s view: a stunning old church.

Image

Ahh Simons: one of my favourite places on earth.

Image

Simon’s haul.

Image

A really cool, beautiful door downtown old Montreal. There were way more gorgeous bits of architecture, but I wouldn’t have gotten anywhere if I snapped everything I saw.

Image

Garde Manger’s infamous sign

Image

1 of 2 customized Hendrick’s cocktails. I said I wanted gin and I got a lemonade gin and soda cocktail with muddled cucumber.

Image

Mmmmmm 3 types of briny, slimy, oysters. Also, the best cocktail sauce I’ve ever had.

Image

My heart and arteries really pulled through for me here. Seared fois gras on waffles. Holy. Moly. Of course it had to be topped with maple syrup pan sauce, micro greens and zesty radish. The waffle was herby, crispy and light too, another top dish on my list of things I’ve eaten.

Image

The best meal I’ve ever had. Huge, sweet, seared scallops on top of pillowy gnocchi (I’ve decide I make prison pillow gnocchi in comparison to these), the sweetest, most tender roasted carrots and parsnips and a silky, savouring carrot butter. I may or may not have licked the plate…

Image

Saffron scented lobster risotto. My mom’s entree, I’m not a huge fan of saffron, but it was still amazing!

Image

“The Best Thing You’ll Put in Your Mouth” was what my waitress dubbed this dessert. I’d have to agree. I have had things that are equally as delicious for sure, but never this combination of flavours. A molasses cake, with lightly flavoured goat cheese whip cream, super crispy, warm banana fritters and the sweetest, tooth-aching caramel pecan sauce. It almost beat me, after such a hefty meal dessert was a hard call; I figured I had gotten this far, dessert was necessary. So glad I pushed through!

Image

Had to take a shot of the old cobblestone streets, just to balance out the 90% food photo content. I really did love walking down the narrow, european streets. Popping into shops and ogling at the bakery windows.

Image

After a night of over indulgence, this hearty breakfast bar (accompanied with a strong americano) was the perfect start to a day of touring around the city. It had an apple/apricot filling, between a bottom of date square-esque bottom and the nutty/awesome topping. I have plans to replicate this amazing bar. Stay tuned!

ImageReminiscent of my French exchange student Manon, who always sent me this chocolate for Christmas. Just hazelnut cream with hazelnuts covered in chocolate, no big deal.

Leave a Reply

