Lobster Rolls

_MG_0039

Living in Ontario makes me appreciate seafood a lot. It makes me appreciate fresh seafood even more. This recipe, I’m embarrassed to say, uses canned lobster. What really tells of my Ontario residence is, that canned lobster was just as exciting and tasty as ‘fresh’ grocery store fare. It wasn’t wiggling 5 minutes ago, pre steam bath-but it’s a pretty big deal around here to eat any kind of crustacean.

_MG_0028

_MG_0029

 

_MG_0030

Since I’m so deprived, I didn’t want to mess with the flavour of the lobster. I didn’t want to muddle it with sauce, pasta or cheese. The best highlight of lobster’s sweet flavour is wedged between a pillowy lightly toasted (and buttered!) white hot dog bun, with the faintest mayo and lemon juice dressing. Simple. Delicious.

   _MG_0031

I think that even if I did live in close proximity to fresh sea food, the novelty wouldn’t rub off. I could confidently say I’d eat fish and shell fish every day. Starting with lobster rolls as my lunchtime staple.

Lobster Rolls

Makes 3 small sandwiches, less if your buns are bigger

  • 360 g, 11.3 oz, about 1 1/2 cups fresh lobster meat, cooked and chopped
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1-2 tablespoons mayonaise
  • freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons fresh chive, chopped
  • 2-3 white new england style hot dog buns
  • 2 tablespoons butter, softened at room temperature

If you’re using fresh lobster (jealous) steam and set aside to cool before chopping.

  1. Mix chopped lobster, mayo, lemon juice, pepper and chives together. Refrigerate until ready to use.
  2. Butter both sides of bun, place in pan until toasted and golden brown.
  3. Cram as much lobster as you can into buns. Serve immediately.
One response to “Lobster Rolls

Leave a Reply

