A Kinda Greek Salad

_MG_0006

You’d think I don’t eat vegetables based on the number of salad to cookie recipes I have. That’s not entirely true. I do eat cookies a lot, but I also eat salad almost every day, it’s just such a hard thing to pin down into a recipe. As much as I love following a great salad recipe, discovering new flavours, textures and wowing people with ‘just a salad,’ for the most part, I can never stick to any kind of real recipe of ratio. A little of this, some chopped up bits here, sprinkling there, it would be cruel and mean for me to write such a haphazard recipe for you kind people. I figured this particular salad would be an excellent opportunity to buckle down and prove I really do eat vegetables give a well-deserved salad recipe.

_MG_0002

I say ‘kinda salad,’ because I’m not too sure this would constitute a traditional Greek Salad; believe me, I looked up many variations. There were recipes with mint, with parsley, red onion, no onion, feta, fried cheese! I had these ingredients on hand and although I would have enjoyed a little slaty bite of feta, it really didn’t need it. The briny black olives and light seasoning was more than enough salt. Contrasted with fruity olive oil, crunchy cucumber and sweet, juicy tomato and a few grinds of freshly ground black pepper it was a lovely rendition in my opinion. By all means, switch things up, add different herbs, add cheese, take out cucumbers; really this is a basic starting point.

A Kinda Greek Salad

Serves 2-4 depending on if it’s a main or a small side

  • 1 medium-large tomato, diced
  • 1/2 cup cucumber, diced
  • 1/4 cup black olive, pitted and torn into small pieces
  • 1 small garlic clove, minced
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • salt + pepper to taste
  • *optional 1/2 cup feta, drained and crumbled
  1. Chop tomato, cucumber, olives and garlic, put into serving bowl.
  2. Juice lemon, add remaining ingredients to same bowl.
  3. Toss and serve; can marinade up to a few hours at room temperature.
One response to “A Kinda Greek Salad

  1. Pingback: Lamb Burgers | the windowsill·

Leave a Reply

