Honeyed Carrots

_MG_0025

Jamie Oliver was my first crush, like ever. Before cooking was cool. Before the Food Network was even a thing. Before other kids even making their own lunches, I was rushing home during my lunch hour to catch 30 minutes of pure culinary crushing. That being said, I’m a little sad that I’ve forgotten about his cookbook I bought [back in the day when I rarely parted from my saved-up birthday and Christmas cash.]

Image

Looking for a simple, straight-forward, easy and delicious carrot recipe, we were reunited again. One hardly ever jumps to steaming/boiling vegetables as a favourite application, but after tasting these fork-yeilding, sweet and earthy soldiers you won’t  miss steamed or roasted for a second. Jamie’s pretty sneaky that way. I also have to note that this cookbook came out on my 18th birthday; no coincidence I’d say.

Honeyed Carrots

Adapted from Cook with Jamie

Serves 4-6

  • 1 3/4 lb carrots – about 4
  • 1-2 bay leaves
  • knob of butter
  • 1 teaspoon honey
  • salt + pepper
  • boiling water
  1. Wash carrots + cut into roughly 2″ lengths, so that they’ll fit in your casserole dish snugly, standing upright.
  2. Season with salt + pepper, drizzle with honey + dollop butter on top. Put bay leaf(s) in between carrots
  3. Pour water into pan coming up about halfway to the carrots.
  4. Bring to a boil with lid off. Simmer 20 minutes with lid on until carrots are fork tender.
  5. Remove lid, boil until liquid has evaporated, leaving a syrup at the bottom of the pan. Serve immediately or at room temperature.
Leave a Reply

