Clementine Squares

Image

You know when you go your entire life claiming you dislike something only to discover one day you actually love it? This happened to me with zucchini in the fall, and now citrus desserts yesterday.

Image

I wanted to make something dead easy and not chocolate or peanut butter (don’t ask what possessed me to impose those perimeters upon myself) so lemon was the obvious choice. Once the crust was comfortably pre baking I noticed I had no lemons. I did however have a rather brimming crate of clementines. It took me an unnecessary amount of humming and hawing (I’ve actually noticed I do this out loud; further speaking to myself out loud and making a note to stop muttering to myself) before I opted for lemon’s orange little cousin Clementine.

Image

Now to the part where I’ve had a lifelong vendetta against citrus dessert. “I’d rather have chocolate or nothing! Not worth the calories for me!” stuffing my face with brownies dipped in peanut butter…

That may or may not have actually happened. Point is, I love lemon desserts. More specifically clementine desserts. Without tasting like a creamsicle, the filling was zingy, refreshing, creamy and sweet; all nestled on a firm, buttery shortbread crust.

Clementine Squares

Adapted from smitten kitchen

Makes about 16 squares, depending on how generous you slice

Crust

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup white sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 8 tablespoons buter, cut into chunks + extra for greasing

Filling

  • 2 clementines
  • 1 1/3 cups sugar
  • 8 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into chunks
  • 4 large eggs
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Crust

  1. Preheat oven to 350˚. Line 9″x9″ pan with parchment and/or butter
  2. Whisk flour, sugar + salt together. Using pastry blender add butter until crumbly.
  3. Pat down into pan evenly with fingers, going up 1/2″ to the sides.
  4. Bake 20 minutes + prick with fork.
  5. Remove from oven, set aside + leave oven on

Filling

  1. Slice clementine into rings + discard any seeds. Place into food processor.
  2. Add sugar + puree until smooth, about 2 minutes.
  3. Ad butter + blend until smooth once again, scraping sides with a spatula.
  4. Add egg, corn starch + salt until evenly combined.
  5. Pour into pre baked crust, baking for 35-40 minutes, until filling is set on the outside but still a bit jiggly in the middle.
  6. Let cool completely, cut into squares and dust with icing sugar.
2 responses to “Clementine Squares

  1. Pingback: Lemon Tart with Gingersnap Crust | the windowsill·

  2. Pingback: Lemon Drop CakeYield: 1 (8-inch) cakeFrom Baked CookbookFor | the windowsill·

Leave a Reply

