Seared Halibut with Gazpacho Salad + Tomato Vinaigrette

Image

Christmas? I thought it was summer time! Looking at my plate you’d think it was the middle of July! Which is absolutely ok with me, as garden fresh veg/herbs are one of my favourite things in the world. Sometimes I see such a painfully plain protein and because there is so much you can do with it, I can’t make up my mind and just give up (I should work on my problem of indecisiveness…)

Image

My go-to cookbook these days was beside me however and I thought maaaaybe there’d be a recipe with halibut that wasn’t fish and chips (what else is it used for, really?) Apparently, if you pan fry it, whiz up some tomato vinaigrette and half ass a gazpacho, you have a really delicious, and unseasonably light meal.

Image

I didn’t have any cucumbers for my gazpacho salad, so I doubled the peppers. I also didn’t have any large tomatoes and used cherry tomatoes instead. I used this recipe as a pretty rough guideline, but truly what makes it is the vinaigrette. It’s so tangy and sweet and it truly brings everything together. Also, there’s a green bean in the picture. That was leftover from last night and was a lovely addition actually.

Seared Halibut with Gaspacho Salad + Tomato Vinaigrette

Adapted from Smitten Kitchen Cookbook

Serves 4 generously

Tomato Vinaigrette

1 medium tomato, peeled, seeded + chopped

2 tablespoons red wine vinaigrette

1/4 cup olive oil

salt + pepper to taste

Fish

Four 6-8 oz halibut fillets

Olive oil + butter to coat the pan

salt + pepper to taste

Salad

1 1/2 cups cherry or beefsteak tomatoes, diced

3 bell peppers (or 2 plus half an english cucumber) diced

1/2 small sweet onion, diced

3 tablespoons parsley

For the vinaigrette: In a blender/food processor/magic bullet, purée tomato until smooth, add vinegar and slowly, while machine is running, add olive oil. Season with salt + pepper

For the salad: Chop all vegetables into equal sized pieces and put into serving bowl. Add parsley. Set aside until fish is ready.

For the fish: Bring fish to room temperatureHeat medium sized cast iron skillet to medium-high heat with about a tablespoon of olive oil and butter. Season fish liberally with salt + pepper. Add to hot pan and cook about 3-4 minutes a side.

To serve: Place salad onto plate with fish on top; drizzle with vinaigrette. I also served basmati rice with mine, adding it underneath the salad.

 

One response to “Seared Halibut with Gazpacho Salad + Tomato Vinaigrette

Leave a Reply

