Gingerbread Dutch Baby

_MG_0003

I am notorious for eating dessert for breakfast. Like on a  semi-regular basis. I regret it later when I realize I didn’t have any protein and the sugar high has long disappeared. When I came upon this egg (protein) and gingerbread (dessert!) dutch baby I knew I had to make it. I also knew that because it was so easy, it was half egg and has very little sugar we’d be good friends frequently seeing each other in the mornings.

orngta

_MG_0007

Gingerbread Dutch Baby

I like to taste my spices in ‘spiced’ food. That isn’t to say I enjoy eating potpourri, but if it says gingerbread it best taste like Christams! I thought the addition of eggnog, molasses and doubling the spices helped this already delicious pancake transport you into a blustery, snowy, lazy winter morning.

Adapted from Smitten Kitchen

Serves 1-2

1/3 cup all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon molasses
1/8 teaspoon table or fine sea salt
1/3 cup milk (or eggnog as I had that kicking around)
2 large eggs
3 tablespoons unsalted butter
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon ginger
pinch allspice
1/4 teaspoon lemon zest

icing sugar/lemon juice/maple syrup for garnish

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Heat 9” cast iron skillet with 2 tablespoons of butter. Whisk flour, spices and salt together. Whisk eggs, milk/eggnog and molasses together. Whisk dry ingredients into eggs until smooth. Pour into preheated pan and bake for 15-20 minutes. Use this time to make coffee and throw your dishes in the sink; whether you wash them or not is up to you. Garnish with icing sugar and lemon juice and/or maple syrup.

Leave a Reply

