Breakfast Muffins + Chocolate Sandwich Cookies

Well, I’m only 23 and I’m the girl that brings food. Oh Melissa’s invited, what’s she cooking? Oh Melissa’s coming, gosh she’s going to hate my store bought cookies!

This weekend I’ve been asked to bring some ‘Christmas treats’ to a group that will ‘eat anything.’ I considered pumpkin eggnog and chocolate somehow mashed together to create a ‘seasonal’ dessert of some sort, but realized, I don’t want to eat that. Sometimes, simple is best. Put that in writing people, as it very rarely comes out of my mouth.

I didn't plan the sandwiching so well, but they still look delicious!

I didn’t plan the sandwiching so well, but they still look delicious!

Chocolate Sandwiches with Orange Eggnog Filing

Adapted from: http://smittenkitchen.com/blog/2008/04/brownie-roll-out-cookies/

Makes about 2 dozen small-medium sandwich cookies

Chocolate Cookies

3 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa

Preheat oven at 350 degrees. Whisk flour, cocoa salt and baking powder in bowl and set aside. Mix butter, sugar, eggs and vanilla. Gradually add flour mixture, and mix until smooth. Wrap in plastic and chill for at least one hour.

Roll out cookie dough on floured counter. Cut into desired shapes, brushing extra deposits of flour off the top. Bake for about 10 minutes. Cool before filling.

Filling

Alas! I mashed up two separate icings to make this one lovely version. However if you mix 4oz cream cheese, 2 tablespoons of eggnog, a pinch of nutmeg, equal pinches of orange zest and enough icing sugar to form a paste, you should be set. Make sure you wait until your cookies are completely cool or else the icing will slide all over, melting and making a (delicious) mess.

mush

Banana Peanut Butter Honey and Jam Muffins aka PB+J Muffins

It’s been know I like to show off  share my cooking with others, so on top of bringing cookies, I’ve opted for healthy-ish muffins too. It IS an overnight event and I WAS invited last minute. The least I could do is prove my party-going worthiness through these poor lucky souls’ stomaches.

1 3/4 cups flour

2 teaspoons baking power
1/4 teaspoon baking soda cups light brown sugar, packed
1/2 teaspoon salt

2 eggs
3 ripe, mashed bananas
1 teaspoon vanilla or bourbon
3 ripe, mashed bananas
2/3 cups smooth or creamy natural peanut butter (reduce honey by half if using sweet pb)
2/3 cups honey

3/4 cups strawberry jam (or your favourite other berry jam, I’d avoid marmalades though)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt together in separate bowl. Set aside.

I like to mash my bananas with a potato masher or pastry blender, I find it gets the pieces nice and small. To the bananas, add peanut butter, eggs, honey and vanilla. Use a whisk at this point to combine.

Stir in dry ingredients until just combined. Spoon 1/2 tablespoon into pre-greased muffin tins. If using cups, I’d still advise spraying them with cooking spray as they still tend to stick. Spoon 1/2 teaspoon of jam onto banana batter. Cover with another 1/2 tablespoon of batter. Cook for 30-35 minutes. Make sure you cover jam completely with batter or else thiswill happen. Cool before removing from pan.

Leave a Reply

