Pumpkin Harvest Dunking Cookies

Image
Pumpkin is a big deal for me. I find ways to eat pretty much from September – February/March, most prominently in a muffin, scone or what have you. I’m a big fan of canned pumpkin I must point out, I’ve tried to roast and puree my own and it was, in my opinion way too much effort for the result – and that’s saying something considering the obscene effort I put into things.

Image

Image

As with any favourite ingredient I have go-to recipes but always want to try something new. This year, I had yet to crack open the pumpkin portion of my Baked Elements book. Frankly, I forgot there was an entire section devoted to my savoury squash sidekick, thus making the discovery of this recipe even more thrilling. Yes, it really was thrilling.Image

I have made varieties of muffins, scones and loaves before but I was curious about cookies. I’ve heard good things, but had yet to try a decent specimen. Any variety I tried was too cakey or overly spiced (in a potpourri way) Blech! These cookies were my answer. They are a hearty cookie no doubt, but they don’t tip the scales into cake category. Think mega-oatmeal cookie. Bursting with chocolate chips, dried cherries and just enough spiciness to remind you it’s fall.

Image

Image

Paired with any variety of dunking beverages (coffee, tea, pumpkin spice lattes, milk, cider…) They aren’t called dunking cookies for nothing. I would even suggest baking them even further to an almost- soft biscotti-like crunch for maximum dunking and minimum sogginess. Oh well, I guess I’ll just have to make them again. I still have to make pumpkin donuts though…

Image

Pumpkin Harvest Dunking Cookies
Baked Elements
Makes 3 dozen cookies (I rolled my dough into balls and froze half for instant pumpkin gratification)

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/8 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 8 ounces (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 5 ounces dried cherries (1 cup)
  • 6 ounces semi-sweet or white chocolate chips

1. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, oats, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, and cloves. Set aside.

2. In the bowl of a standing mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, beat the butter and sugars together until smooth and creamy, about 3 minutes. Scrape down the sides and bottom of the bowl and add the egg, pumpkin, and vanilla, until incorporated.

3. Add half of the dry ingredients and mix for seconds. Add the remaining dry ingredients and beat until just incorporated. Scrape down the sides and bottom of the bowl, and beat for 5 more seconds.

4. Remove the bowl from the mixer and fold in the cranberries and chocolate chips. Cover the bowl tightly and refrigerate the dough for at least 4 hours.

5. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

6. Scoop out the dough in 2 tablespoon-size balls and place the balls onto the prepared baking sheet about 1 inch apart. Bake for 14 – 18 minutes until they begin to brown.

7. Remove the pan from the oven and cool on a wire rack for 5 minutes. Use a spatula to transfer the individual cookies to the rack to cook completely.

These cookies can be stored, in an airtight container, for up to 3 days.

Vanilla Glaze

  • 1/2 cup icing sugar
  • 3 tablespoons cream
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1. Mix ingredients together until smooth, add more cream or sugar for desired consistency.

2. Drizzle over cooled cookies, if you can wait, let them sit an hour for icing to set. I can’t say I followed this step.

2 responses to “Pumpkin Harvest Dunking Cookies

  1. Pingback: Brown Butter Pumpkin Spice Pretzels with Cider Glaze | the windowsill·

  2. Pingback: Pumpkin Date Loaf | the windowsill·

Leave a Reply

